Home » Uncategorized » Asians in the Library

Asians in the Library

Alexandra Wallace, what exactly were you going to gain by posting this video

There has been a lot of hubbub in the Asian American community about this virulent video (I say “Asian” because just about every non-asian person I’ve talked to had never seen the video, or maybe some of them have “heard” about it) – at first I was pissed when I saw this but then after a while, I decided that this woman was just another misguided, uneducated Blonde Barbie doll. 

Let me talk about the pissed off part first.  Obviously, I, Wendy F. Maruyama (some folks know my middle name), being the proud Asian American that I am, with all that my parents and grandparents had gone through to provide opportunities for my generation and those thereafter, felt the sting of racism in this video,  especially when Miss Wallace goes through her “ching chong” routine.  I remember Mira Nakashima telling me about the taunts that she suffered, where white kids would take their fingers, slant their eyes upward and taunt “chingchong chinaman”.   But this is a college kid from UCLA, one of the top ranked universities “in the world”.  and in 2011, no less. Have the American people regressed again?

I could choose to stew for several days, no let me stew for another year over this, stacking another soapbox upon the one I’ve already been standing on — but wait. I thought about my Dad.  Dad has always been the funny guy in our family, not just in our immediate family but the extended one as well.  He has an uncanny ability to diffuse tension by saying something funny.  Not always properly but funny no less and then everyone ends up lauging.   I suspect that in his young life, it was a subconscious survival tactic that somehow made him so popular amongst his farming community back in Rocky Ford Colorado – he was friends with the white sheriff, the fellow Mexican American laborers that he picked cantelope with, and his card-playing buddies.  Having a sense of humor is the one gene I inherited from him that keeps me from getting ulcers and allows me to deal with other stressful issues in my life.

Jimmy Wong responded to Alexandra’s video with a real classy one where he seranades her – I watched this and immediately all the anger completely melts away, and you end up thinking – why get worked up over this blonde bimbo??  My Dad would have done this.

The AngelieVaudville on You Tube did a complete parody of this video, and it pretty much sums it up.  Oddly, its not much different than the original, the only difference is the Asian actress in a blonde wig, and the hilarious props on the wall behind her.   It amplifies the absurdity and her performance emphasizes Wallace’s stupidity to a level that supersedes the original.

At the end of the day, humor saves lives.

Anyway, this is the end of my ‘rant’, “and have a nice day”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

